Thumb fish
Helen
English
Spanish
French
Maths

Biography:
I am an extremely dedicated, supportive and flexible teacher with a vast ten year’s experience of teaching students of all ages from primary level to adults. I have also taught students from a range of different cultures and backgrounds .I am therefore able to adapt my teaching style and methodology according to their age and level and am also sensitive to the individual educational needs of all my learners. I have a degree in Spanish with French and a PGCE in Spanish and French which has enabled me to teach both Spanish and French in both secondary schools and primary schools in the past. I was a French and Spanish Teacher at Westwood Language College for three years where I gained vast experience of teaching, especially using the interactive whiteboard and the ICT suites during my lessons and also making my own resources to motivate visual, auditory and kinaesthetic learners. I took part in the wider community of the school as I managed the after school homework clubs and also managed the after school French club at a link primary school. I also mentored PGCE students who were on placements at our school from King’s College, University of London, where I completed my PGCE. I have specific Primary MFL experience having worked on a one year contract as a French Tutor for ‘La Jolie Ronde’ where I taught French at a range of primary schools at KS1 and KS2. I gained a rich experience of using games, songs ,role-play and realia to motivate the younger learners. My younger students particularly enjoyed From 2007 to 2012 was teaching English to speakers of other languages and Literacy to native speakers which I have also found rewarding. I particularly enjoy teaching grammar. I am also the responsible person for all safeguarding issues at our London Bridge branch and give a weekly presentation to new students outlining the different types of abuse and how I can help them if they experience any of these. Since 2012 I have been working as an Employment Coach, supporting groups and individuals with their CVs, Interview techniques, application forms etc and to over come their barriers in order to find them employment. Overall, I have a wide range of teaching experience in various subjects and with students of all ages.
Previous Teaching Experience:
I have over 10 years of teaching experience, having taught a wide range of subjects and age ranges, including over 4 years of ESOL teaching experience and 4 years as a Spanish and French teacher. I have a PGCE in Spanish and French and a CELTA subject specialism for teaching English as a Foreign Language. I have taught ESOL to adults and young people from Entry Level 1 to Level 3 and Spanish and French from KS1 to KS5. I also have vast experience of planning and delivering engaging lessons. I also have experience of tutoring private students for GCSE and A Level examinations. I strongly believe in making my lessons both challenging and fun

Degrees
French and Spanish, Durham University
Schools attended
Streatham and Clapham High School, London
No Reviews

Tips: Please remember to include what subject was taught, to what level and any results that were achieved

Athena Tuition
+44 (0) 20 813 36284
Contact agency
From £48/hr