Thumb thumb pin
#931
Maths
Geography
English

About Me
My specialist subjects are Geography and Spanish and I also teach English as a foreign/second language, as well as Maths and Science up to GCSE.
I aim to make tutoring an enjoyable and fun experience, working together with the student to build confidence and reach their full potential. This involves being very flexible to the students needs, and paying close attention to their learning methods.

For geography, I place a lot of emphasis on exam technique, and finding ways of getting the maximum marks from each questions. I find that this means that the student does not have to learn lots and lots (although they do need to memories some info), but the most important thing is to have a good overview of what the exam board is looking for, and doing well in the exam itself.

For Spanish, I place a strong emphasis on encouraging the student to both enjoy the language, but also finding ways to practice that are not too much to ask. For example, if the student likes music I encourage them to listen to songs for homework, or if they enjoy films, to watch a movie in Spanish. I tend to focus the classes on speaking, but some students prefer to look at grammar, or writing skills. I am familiar not only with Spanish from Spain, but also the different Latin American dialectics, and students often enjoy discussing Latin America with me (perhaps a gap year destination, or a future place of study?).

PhD Geography, University College London, 2015
MSc Geography, University College London, Distinction, 2011
BSc, Geography and Spanish, University of Bristol, First-class honours, 2006
A Levels (Spanish, Maths, Geography), City of London School, 3 As, 2001

Recent Tuition
I have over ten years of tutoring and teaching experience, with a particular focus on Spanish, Geography and English as a Foreign/Second Language. I have taught dozens of children Spanish and Geography, including common entrance, GCSE and A Level for all major exam boards, at a number of schools in London and across the country, and helped those for whom English is a second language. I have also taught adults Spanish (including beginner), Geography (predominantly undergraduate and graduate students, including specialist help with dissertations and projects), and English (as a foreign or second language).
Some examples include:

Spanish, AS, John. John was really keen to get his Spanish to a good level, but was struggling. I helped with primarily with speaking (for the oral exam) but we also did some grammar. We met for 1 hour per week at first, before increasing to 1.5 hours, which was great as we had lots of speaking time.
Geography, A Level, Simon. Simon wanted help with a number of resists. We worked together, going over some of the material he found most challenging, and working towards he resists. We spent lots of time on exam technique and how to get the most out of the exam paper.
Spanish, GCSE, Angus, Weekly sessions. Angus was struggling with Spanish. He enjoyed it, but found his school teacher to be of little help and not really pushing him. We worked together on a range of activities, from speaking and listening, to writing, with lots of fun and games mixed up. We managed to make Spanish not only fun, but something that Angus could actually achieve well in.
Geography, GCSE, Muhammad, weekly sessions for two years. We worked together on his GCSE syllabus, supporting his work in class, and doing plenty of exam technique and practices papers. By the time it came to the exams he was a top student, excelling, with 100% in several papers.
Geography, AS, Sarah, intensive revision for two weeks. We spent 5 days a week, 2 hours a day, doing Spanish revision together. We did a lot of work with exam technique and went through past papers together. I also helped her with any areas she found difficult.

Hobbies and Interests
I spend as much time as possible doing the things that I enjoy, which include: music - listening and playing (I have played drums in a number of bands, and also play a little piano and guitar)
Sport - in particular outdoor sports such as hiking, climbing, surfing, wakeboarding and snowboarding, as well as cycling and swimming (and I enjoy doing to the Emirates to watch Arsenal)
Travelling - I have visited nearly every country in Latin America (including living for a year in Brazil and 1.5 years in Argentina), and more recently travelled around India. I also enjoy reading books and watching good films.

No Reviews

Tips: Please remember to include what subject was taught, to what level and any results that were achieved

Simply Learning Tuition
+44 (0) 20 381 17403
Contact agency
From £60/hr