Thumb thumb pin
#922
Biology
English Literature
French
Italian

About Me
My specialist subjects in education are literacy and numeracy at the Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 level, I also specialise in preparation for the 11+. I am a certified primary teacher and have experience teaching Year 4 and 6. The subjects I am best suited to tutor are: English, mathematics, French and science. I also have a background in languages (Italian and French), in which during my undergraduate degree I completed a minor in Italian. As well, I have experience teaching English in Italy as a certified TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) tutor in Modena and San Remo, Italy.

I believe I am highly skilled and qualified tutor, as I am aware of all childrens needs, strengths, and their challenges because of my extensive training in my psychology degree. I understand the neurological and behavioural development of children and their learning. I support children individually, offer lessons based on the childs learning style(s) and encourage them based on their abilities so they may reach their goals.

Ontario College of Teachers certified

Primary, Junior and Intermediate
2012

MASTER OF SCIENCE in EDUCATION (M.S.Ed)

Medaille College, Williamsville, New York, U.S.A.
2010-2011

BACHELOR OF ARTS in PSYCHOLOGY (B.A.)

Brock University, St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada.
2003-2007

1999-2003 OSSD (Ontario Secondary School Diploma) equivalent to GCSE completed with A levels (Sciences, English and Maths)

Recent Tuition
I am currently working as a Supply Teacher, with past experience teaching Year 6 and Year 4. In addition to my teaching I have experience in working with a wide range of students preparing them for the 11+ and SATs. Please find some examples below of my teaching experience, this was gained both in a one-to-one setting and in the classroom.

Year 6 Teacher

St. Michaels C of E Primary (N6), London September 2014-July 2015

Year 4 Teacher

St. Augustines RC Primary, Hertfordshire March 2014 -July 2014

Volunteer Teacher (Year 1-5 support teacher)

Rosedale Elementary, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada September 2013- February 2014

Italian Teacher (Key Stage 1/Summer School)

St. Charles Adult and Continuing Education June 2013- August 2013

Applied Behavioural Analysis Therapy:

Outside of the classroom role as a Teacher, I have worked with children with behavioural difficulties such as autism, ADHD and OCD as an Applied Behavioural Analysis facilitator. I have worked with children (from ages 4-16) one-to-one, to help develop their cognitive and social growth, through hands on activities to help strengthen their fine motor control, academic abilities and social skill development.

French and Italian:

I have tutored children across Italy and in France for private schools and families. My experience tutoring English to Italian and French children was very rewarding and has helped me to understand how to break down a complicated language (like English) into the fundamentals parts- whilst creating fun activities to help create a fun environment for children to learn.

Hobbies and Interests
Aside from teaching, I am a large enthusiast and advocate of sports. I play football, dodgeball and enjoy running and swimming. Born and raised in Canada, I also play ice-hockey and love to ice-skate and ski in the winter months. Apart from athletics, my other hobbies include painting, travelling and cooking. Raised by an Italian mother my favourite childhood memories were those making pasta, sauces and Italian dishes in the kitchen with my family. I speak Italian and some French and whenever possible I try and visit my family in Italy and France to relax, catch-up and improve on my fluency of Italian and French.

No Reviews

Tips: Please remember to include what subject was taught, to what level and any results that were achieved

Simply Learning Tuition
+44 (0) 20 735 01981
Contact agency
From £60/hr
Qualified teacher