Thumb thumb pin
#913
Drama
English Literature
Latin

About Me
My specialist subjects are English and Latin, from 7+ up to A2-Level. I teach English, Maths and Science for Common Entrance and school-specific entrance at 7+, 8+ 11+ and 13+. I also tutor Theatre Studies.

I received private tutoring at age 11 in advance of my Senior school entrance examinations, and found the individual attention and focus on how I learnt best a huge help in both my performance and confidence going into the tests and interviews. I aim to make this the same experience for my tutees.

Since graduating, I have worked in editorial and marketing roles in London. I have realised that my studies not only prepared me for accomplishing top marks in examinations, but also provided me with transferable skills that I could apply directly to my working life. It is important to me that my students find that they are both achieving their academic goals and building an appreciation for their subject that will last well beyond their examination date.

I am particularly familiar with the entrance requirements for the GDST school network, Kings College Wimbledon, Knightsbridge School, Belmont School, Mill Hill School, Colet Court, St Pauls School and St Pauls Girls School.

2003-2010 University of Warwick BA in English and Latin Literature (First class honours)
2001-2003 Wimbledon High School A Levels: English (B), Latin (B), Theatre Studies (A), Biology (A) and General Studies (A)
1999-2001 Wimbledon High School GCSEs: English Literature (A), English Language (A), French (A), History (A), Maths (A), Physics (A*), Chemistry (A*), Biology (A*), IT (A*), and Latin (A*)
1995-1999 Lady Eleanor Holles
1990-1995 Surbiton High School

Recent Tuition

7+/8+ Entrance examinations - I taught English as a foreign language to Penny and Percy who were native German home-schooled siblings. They were preparing for entrance examinations to Knightsbridge School at 7+/8+. We divided our time between oral and written exercises. I devised comprehension and writing exercises around their interests of the Romans and travel in Africa from where they had recently returned to make their learning relevant to them, as well as working through past papers. In order to keep their attention throughout sessions, I divided our time into 20 minute sections, to provide variety. They are both now happily settled at the school.
Latin at ages 8-13 - While in sixth form I tutored Latin to age 8/9 pupils from the beginners Minimus course, with the aim to encourage selection of the subject when it became available at senior school. At university I also tutored groups of students aged 11-13 following the Cambridge Latin Course.
11+ School-specific entrance examinations - I tutored Sarah weekly in preparation for her examinations for Putney High School, particularly focussing on Comprehension techniques and widening vocabulary to illuminate composition work. She won the desired place and is continuing to increase in confidence in those areas.
GCSE and iGCSE English and GCSE Latin - I worked with both Sarah and Shane in preparation for their GCSE and iGCSE exams. We focused particularly on unseen poetry and excerpts as both found these most challenging. Both students gained grade improvements from their mock examination results, with Sarah moving from a B to an A* in both English Literature and English Language, and from a B to and A in Latin, and Shane from a D to a B in both English Literature and English Language.
A-Level English with Ashley - I worked with Ashley on a regular basis as she sought to raise her B grade at AS-Level to an overall A grade at A-Level, in order to meet her grade requirements to take up her offer of a place reading English at Nottingham. We concentrated particularly on essay structure and planning as she had previously found herself running out of time in examinations. She achieved the A grade she needed to gain her place at her first choice university, and is finding the skills we established helpful in her university work.

Hobbies and Interests
I am a keen swimmer and snorkeler, which goes well with another hobby of travel and reading travel writing. Most recently, I visited Costa Rica, and I would like to journey through more of the worlds national parks.
I played netball for school and university, and am now in a local league with former school friends.
I love living in such a cosmopolitan city as London and going to its many theatres, museums and galleries, and am a particular fan of Friday Night Lates at these establishments.

No Reviews

Tips: Please remember to include what subject was taught, to what level and any results that were achieved

Simply Learning Tuition
+44 (0) 20 735 01981
Contact agency
From £60/hr