Thumb thumb pin
#885
Art
English Literature
History
History of Art
Personal Statement

About Me
My Specialist subject is English Literature, I also teach History and Creative Writing.

I believe successful tutoring is about enabling students to have confidence in themselves. I am keenly aware of the importance of creating a supportive and encouraging environment in which a student can learn to trust their abilities and flourish. For me tutorials are designed to be friendly and open spaces and part of my role as a tutor is to make a student feel comfortable enough to ask for help when they are stuck and in need of guidance. I greatly enjoy building relationships with my tutees and helping them to fulfil their potential. I have been working as a tutor for the past year and a half and have experience ranging from teaching English Literature at A Level, to Creative Writing and also mentoring children and young adults through challenging aspects of their school career. I have worked with many different students of varying ages and I try to adapt my teaching methods to suit each individual client. I am always on the look out for new ways of making a subject as interesting and accessible as possible.

I am passionate about the subject I teach. Having left Sussex University with a First Class Honors degree and an MA in English Literature, I have gone on to do poetry courses with Faber and Faber and playwriting at The Royal Court Theatres Young Writers Programme, I am currently working towards my first poetry collection. English Literature and writing have formed the backbone of my academic career thus far and I am dedicated to passing on the enthusiasm and enjoyment I have for the subject.

2008 - 2009 University of Sussex, MA (Merit) in Modern and Contemporary Literature, Culture and Thought.
2005 - 2008 University of Sussex, First Class BA (Hons) in English Literature.
2002 - 2004 Alleyns School, London, A-Level: English Literature (A), History (A), Art (A).
1999 - 2002 Alleyns School, London, GCSE: English Literature (A*), English Language (A*), History (A*), Art (A*), Religious Studies (A*), Science (A,A), Maths (B).

Recent Tuition
My recent tuition experience has included:
A Level English Literature:

I worked with Jack on a weekly basis preparing for his A Level AQA exam, we worked on compiling revision notes and refining exam technique. His grade rose from a predicted B Grade to a high A. We also looked at essay structure for his coursework.
I worked with Amie on a long term basis -helping her with her English coursework, working on essay structuring skills, teaching techniques for in depth analysis of set texts as well as assisting with any homework she was struggling with. She obtained high A grades in her coursework and an overall A grade for her A Level.
Charlotte and I met on a weekly basis and worked on techniques for in depth analysis of the set texts she was studying. We went through past exam papers and concentrated on comparative close readings. She obtained an A grade at A Level.

A Level History:

I worked with Jen helping her to plan and structure her essays and coursework. She moved from a predicted B grade in her coursework to a high A grade.

GCSE English Literature:

Philip and I met every two weeks and went through his GCSE poems for his Edexcel examination. We focused on close reading techniques and comparative analysis of texts, as well as going through past exam papers. He received an A* at GCSE.

GCSE English Language:

Toby and I are meeting every week and working through his IGCSE English Language paper for an Edexcel exam next year. We will be focusing on grammar, exam technique and close readings of texts given in past exam papers.

CE 13+ English:

I successfully helped Sophie attain a place at Lady Margarets. We worked in depth on her English comprehension and composition in preparation for her entrance exam.

CE 11+ English:

Michele is 10, we spend an hour a week practicing reading comprehension and writing compositions as an extra support to school homework. I also help out with homework whenever necessary.

8+ English:

I have been working with Niccolo for the past 4 months, we meet every week and are working on his Composition and Reading Comprehension skills in preparation for his 8+ entrance exams to Kings College Wimbledon. I have been helping with techniques for story construction and descriptions, extending vocabulary and grammar use, as well as helping with any issues which may arise from homework. We also look at exam technique and different mechanisms for memory and revision.

UCAS applications:

This has included assisting with planning and structuring personal statements. Amie and I discussed her university choices and came up with a list of preferred universities and potential courses. We met on a weekly basis and worked on her personal statement. She received 5 offers for English and Drama, including offers from all of her top University choices.

Creative writing:

I have worked with students of various ages ranging from GCSE level to university students, some of whom have needed assistance with their coursework and seminar workshops, others have wanted to generally sharpen up their writing skills. Ben and I worked on building up his confidence in writing creatively, we also looked at aspects of editing, workshopping and performing.

Mentoring:

I have experience of working with students on the cusp of university who are unsure as to whether or not university is the right choice for them and who are worried about the transition from school to higher education. I have also worked with younger children ranging from 3-11 who have required encouragement in their school work and needed someone to foster their confidence, as well as needing someone approachable who they can come to with any issues regarding homework or the challenges of school life.

Hobbies and Interests
Outside of teaching I spend my time writing. I have attended The Royal Court Theatres Young Writers Programme for playwriting and have spent the past 3 years at Faber and Fabers Poetry Salon. I have recently won the runner up prize for the Troubadour International Poetry Award and regularly give readings around London. I am currently working towards my first collection. I am avid fan of the arts and enjoy seeing plays, going to exhibitions and attending poetry readings as often as possible.

No Reviews

Tips: Please remember to include what subject was taught, to what level and any results that were achieved

Simply Learning Tuition
+44 (0) 20 735 01981
Contact agency
From £60/hr