Thumb thumb pin
#830
Drama
English Literature

About Me
I have worked with pupils from the age of two to twenty-two and love to support students in finding their learning style. Especially with younger students I like to keep lessons imaginative and practical. My specialist subjects are English and Maths, including the 7+, 11+ and Common Entrance exams, I also teach both English and Drama to A Level standard and provide Voice and Elocution lessons. I have experience in tutoring students with dyslexia.

Oct 2008 - Jul 2010 Bristol Old Vic Theatre School Postgraduate Diploma in Acting
Oct 2005 - Jul 2008 University of Bristol BA Hons 2:1 in English and Drama
Sep 1998 - Jul 2005 St. Leonards Durham A Levels:
English Lit A, Geography A, Chemistry A, Maths (AS) A.
GCSEs: Maths A*, Science (Dual) A* A*, English Lit A*, English Lang A*, Geography A*, French A*, Religion A*, Music A*, Technology A.
*** I am an approved SLT Senior Tutor, please note my hourly rate ***

Recent Tuition
I have been tutoring for over 7 years. Alongside my tutoring, I am currently teaching Puppetry and Comedy Improvisation in schools and run workshops called Song and Move for 3-4 year olds.

Primary help - Charlie had just turned 5 when I began working with him, mainly on English, increasing his confidence in all areas but focussing on Writing, Grammar and Punctuation, and Comprehension.
7+ - I worked with Elektra (6) preparing her for 7+ Examinations. Covering English, Maths and Reasoning focussed on entry to Notting Hill and Ealing High School.
7+ - Working with Harry (6) on English, Maths and exam technique, focussing him for 7+ exam for Dulwich Prep School. Harry has traits of both dyslexia and dyspraxia.
7+ - I work with Jules on his English. Jules is French and has just started attending a French school, so we are working to keep his English up to scratch. Main areas of focus are: speaking, spelling, listening/understanding and grammar.
11+ - Working with Guy on English and Maths one day a week. Mainly focussed on Guys writing and spelling. Guy is preparing for entry to Westminster and Eton Schools.
11+ - I worked with Ingrid on English and Maths in preparation for exams for Notting Hill and Ealing High School, Francis Holland and Godolphin and Latymer Schools. Ingrid went to her first choice of Notting Hill and Ealing High.
School Transition - I am currently working with Hughie (9) who is beginning Emanuel School in September. I am working with Hughie on his skills, confidence and preparation for the challenges, academic and social, of his new school.
11+ - I worked with Olivia in preparation for her Common Entrance exams on all papers (English, Maths, Verbal and Non-Verbal Reasoning) as well as interview practice. Olivia is now attending North London Collegiate School (her first choice) but I also prepared her for entrance to Highgate School for Girls, City of London School for Girls and Queens College.
Primary Help - I worked with brothers Teddy (7) and Alfie (10) mainly on English and Maths but also across all subjects generally to improve knowledge, confidence, spelling and vocabulary.
Primary Help - I worked with Rohan (10) on improving his confidence and basic skills in English and Maths. Rohan was very inquisitive and keen but needed help focussing and answering the specific questions that he was being asked.
13+ I worked with Joe and Molly on English, Maths and Science in preparation for their 13+ Common Entrance Exams.
A Level English Literature (AQA) - worked with Oliver (17) helping with coursework on The Great Gatsby and the poetry of Keats and Larkin. Oliver achieved an A grade.
AS Level Drama (AQA) - helped Yasmin to explore the analysis of texts of Lady Windermeres Fan and A View From The Bridge in preparation for exams, in which she achieved an A.
GCSE English Literature - tutored Amy in preparation for coursework and exams. Texts: Lord of The Flies and A View From The Bridge.
Spelling (SEN) - Working with Harry (9) on his Spelling as he has dyslexia and ADHD and needs specialist support in this area. The lessons with him are always creative and fun to keep him engaged.
SEN - worked with Dean (20), a law student with dyslexia, upon exam preparation and practice.
Home Schooling (SEN) - Inigo (6 when I started) had been getting reports of generally dropping behind in class work with a lack of concentration. I homeschooled him every Friday for two terms. He was having particular trouble in English and Maths. Inigo was struggling especially with English, in all areas, and was most behind with Spelling and Grammar. For him to engage, I had to be both creative (to keep him interested) but also quick as the plan was to get him into Kew Green Primary for the next academic year. We covered the basics of year 1 and ironed out any problems (also to give him confidence with the things he could do) and then went onto year 2. I would use a lot of what he was naturally interested in (football and particular comic book characters) in the teaching to keep his attention. With Maths, Inigo could do simple addition and subtraction but struggled when getting into 2 digits, multiplication, or any sort of wordy problem where the sum to be done was not absolutely clear. So, again, we covered the basics and then pushed on. He worked really hard and eventually we were looking forward to things he may encounter next year. At first Inigo was quite reluctant to work but I managed to win him over and build up a good rapport for productive days of homeschooling. Thankfully, he gained a place at Kew Green, and we were delighted! (Though it did mean, unfortunately, that he didnt need me any more...).
SEN - I visited The Dales, an SEN school, with a play that I was in and ran a workshop with autistic children from 11-18 years old.
English for Foreign Learners - Helped 8 year old Augustinos (Greek) with reading and homework to improve English, as well as taking him on educational trips around London.
Drama (practical) - Coached Emily (21) and Hannah (20) with acting lessons in preparation for Drama School Entry auditions. Emily has now trained at The Bristol Old Vic Theatre School and Hannah is training at LAMDA.
Voice and Elocution - Helped Law Student Amar (20) with speechmaking and projection for use in debating.
Song and Move - A class that I run with 3-4 year olds in school. I work with up to 10 children at a time and encourage play, confidence, interaction and creativity through singing and going on adventures!

Hobbies and Interests
I am a trained actor and have worked in the West End, at the National Theatre and on TV, so I often go to the theatre or the cinema to keep up to date. I like to keep fit and recently did my first half marathon - the Great North Run - and have caught the running bug!

No Reviews

Tips: Please remember to include what subject was taught, to what level and any results that were achieved

Simply Learning Tuition
+44 (0) 20 381 17403
Contact agency
From £60/hr
SEN/Dyslexia