Thumb thumb pin
#823
English

About Me
My specialist subjects are Primary English and Maths, Psychology and SAT preparation and I also work as a teaching assistant for primary students with special needs. As a tutor, I know how to present information clearly in a way that accesses and builds on students previous knowledge in an environment that is focused, safe, and creative. Working with students is a dynamic and engaging process that I find incredibly rewarding. Helping a student assimilate a new concept is exhilarating.

2004-2009 Allegheny College (USA): BA in Psychology, 3.175 GPA
2000-2004 Seneca High School (USA): 4.0 GPA, SAT 1400/1600

Recent Tuition
Small Group and Individual Instruction:

Currently, I work as a level 3 teaching assistant with Year 1 and Year 2 pupils. I lead small groups of 3-4 students in literacy and numeracy lessons and also work individually with students in order to facilitate differentiation. For example, Shay, a 6-year-old advanced in maths, studies multiple-step word problems and long division with me, while his classmates study single-step word problems and multiplication with their classroom teacher.

Classroom Instruction:

From 2009 to 2013, I taught English as a second language in South Korean with students ranging in age from 5 to 18. I taught a variety of subjects including essay writing, public speaking, reading comprehension, test preparation, critical thinking, grammar, phonics, and ethics. Classroom activities included performing in plays, playing games, learning songs, making films and creating comic books.

Reading Comprehension:

6-year-old Jenny began her reading comprehension tuition with no phonetic awareness and a very limited English vocabulary. After 2 months, she was able to read age-appropriate English storybooks and answer comprehension questions.

Standardized Test Preparation:

The IEP (Intensive English Programme) Test was designed to prepare young students for the IELTS.
Jun, aged 6, started the year working very slowly and had the lowest reading comprehension and writing scores in his class. Together, we worked on critical thinking. This encouraged his creativity and helped him to ask and understand new questions. We also regularly reviewed his writing and practice tests, which helped his grammar and test-taking skills tremendously. By the end of the year, he had the 3rd highest IEP test score in the class.

Survival English:

Five nights every week for three months, I met with sisters Jihyun, aged 11, and Hyunjin aged 14, to help prepare them for their impending move to the UAE. The most drastic improvement was their confidence, but they improved their ability to ask clarifying questions and increased vocabulary relating to core school subjects. They also both became proficient at speaking about themselves and their culture.

APA Citation and Statistics:

Elizabeth, who had studied and English and Philosophy as an undergraduate, was studying for her Masters in Educational Psychology at Cambridge University. We met regularly to review APA citation and the statistics used in her thesis.

Hobbies and Interests
Apart from teaching, I enjoy reading graphic novels, drawing and painting. Im an aspiring artist and my most recent exhibition was an installation at the Gwangju International Centre Gallery in 2011.

No Reviews

Tips: Please remember to include what subject was taught, to what level and any results that were achieved

Simply Learning Tuition
+44 (0) 20 735 01981
Contact agency
From £60/hr