Thumb thumb pin
#788
Physics
Maths
Chemistry
Biology

About Me
My specialist subject is Science and Maths and English up to Common Entrance level. I am very sympathetic to those who find difficulty with examinations. I am kind, tolerant, but firm, totally reliable and passionate about my subject. As a multi-disciplinary scientist I can link aspects and show interrelationships across the discipline. I love to enthuse children to appreciate and love science and its applications in the modern world.

I am 65 years old, a totally reliable and trustworthy, discrete, conscientious, confident, outgoing, energetic mother of Miranda, a politics graduate with a Masters degree. I speak a little Italian and love to travel abroad. I have lived and taught full time in a new university in the Middle East for 2 years as a young adult so am familiar with and sensitive to different cultures.

In summary, I am well travelled (20 countries) and have taught short courses in universities in Iran, Norway and Italy over many weeks during the period 1980-2005. I have a strong interest in Italian culture, art and language and wide experience of dealing with overseas students during 10 years as a sixth form tutor at a British girls-boarding school. During that time I dealt with a number of sensitive pastoral issues as well as writing references for university entrance.

1973-1976 The City University London PhD Visual Science
1969-1972 The City University London BSc (Hons) Physiological Optics
1969 GCE Alevel - Physics (B), Zoology (B), Botany (B)
1966 GCE Olevel - Mathematics (B), English Language (B), English Literture (B), French (C), History (B), Geography (B), Physics (A), Biology (A), Chemistry (A), General Science (A)

Recent Tuition
Wide Teaching experience 1972-present mostly full-time with no break for childcare. A variety of state and private schools and colleges where I was the staff representative on the Governing Body, including Head of Department at a leading girls-independent boarding school for 9 years.

As a sixth form tutor at The Royal School, Haslemere (GSA school - Ofsted report Outstanding), I advised girls on university entry, prepared the school statements on UCAS application forms and conducted "mock interviews" for university. At Reed School, Cobham 2010 I carried out an intensive day of mock Oxbridge interviews for all subjects. In addition during my role as sixth form tutor I had to counsel boarding girls through some very delicate pastoral situations.
Since early retirement in 2000 private one to one tuition in my home/students homes for Common Entrance 11+ (girls) 13+ (boys), GCSE and IGCSE, Science, Chemistry, Physics, Biology and A level Biology and Psychology.

Scholarship preparation has been a speciality with successful entrants to Eton (3 candidates), Winchester, Canford, Charterhouse (3 candidates), Wellington, (many references available), and others prepared for entry to Cheltenham Ladies-College, Kings Canterbury etc.

Eton Scholar (2011 entrant) taught for Kings Scholarship over three full residential days for written examinations in science, data analysis, geography, history, divinity and general paper. This student came 3rd out of 140 candidates in the final examinations selected over two years of examinations and interviews from an original application group of several thousand students (reference available).
Eton Scholar (2014 entrant) taught for Kings Scholarship over 3 days for science.
Eton Scholar 2010 entrant. Academic award. Eton Scholar 2010 entrant who came 15th out of final 106 gaining A grade in science.
Winchester Academic Scholar 2013 - additional science tuition in preparation, achieved.

One to one tuition abroad to pupils in UK boarding schools. In August 2011 I was sent by Gabbitas (UKs major educational consultant) to teach GCSE science to two fully tri-lingual Russian boys, for a total of 70 hours over 2 weeks at their Mediterranean home, attending boarding schools in England (Dragon School Oxford for 7 year old, Bradfield College for 14/15 year old). A total of 5 visits, 2012-2013, 30 hours each week. Tuition included Maths, Science and English.

In January 2012 - 40 hours tuition in Berlin to a German girl for entrance to Cheltenham Ladies-College. 2015 Skype interviews with brother for Harrow and Sevenoaks and one day tuition in the UK.
In summer 2012 through Gabbitas to The Netherlands for two Nigerian children at UK boarding school for Common Entrance to UK schools, one for scholarship entry to Cheltenham Ladies-and Wycombe Abbey Schools. New Year 2013 and Easter and Summer 2013 weekly tuition.
In August 2012 through Gabbitas to Scotland to teach five French children from ages 5-16 years including preparation for the 16 year old boy for entry to the sixth form at Charterhouse. Intensive GCSE preparation in science/maths and mock interviews and help to the parents in selecting schools and preparing letters. The boy subsequently gained entry to Charterhouse.
In July 2013 on-going tuition in Oxford to international 11 year old boy for Eton, Harrow, Winchester in 2015. Ongoing tuition over most school holidays until January 2014.
In 2015 exam preparation for common entrance in June to Harrow.

GCSE , IGCSE, A Level

Over 10 years in separate sciences, chemistry, physics and biology and combined sciences and mathematics. Many grade A and A* (references available). Supply A2 Biology teaching Spring 2014.
I hold a wide range of entrance and scholarship science past papers from 2000-2010 for many independent schools and GCSE books/examination papers for all boards.

Hobbies and Interests
European travel especially Italy.
The Romans.
Theatre.
Non-fiction reading.
Learning Italian

No Reviews

Tips: Please remember to include what subject was taught, to what level and any results that were achieved

Simply Learning Tuition
+44 (0) 20 381 17403
Contact agency
From £60/hr