Thumb thumb pin
#768
Art
Classical Civilisations
Drama
English
English Literature
French
Guitar

About Me
I have been tutoring part-time for nearly ten years, both children and adults, individuals and groups. As an artist/academic my approach is creative but also rigorous with plenty of attention to detail. My specialist subjects are English Literature and all the Arts subjects: I also offer French and Classics as well as History.
Im passionate about English literature, with a particular interest in emotions and an understanding of what drives a character within a story.

Im a good tutor because Im sympathetic and fun and have oodles of patience. I focus on praise and reward rather than criticism and to encourage students to gain in confidence.

Im currently doing an M.A in Fine Art at City and Guilds of London (painting). I left sixth-form college with good A levels and went on to achieve a First Class Degree at Manchester University studying English and American Literature - I was awarded a Prize for the best Shakespeare Essay.

After University I took an Editorial job in book publishing for a couple of years before taking time off to travel the world solo.
In India I taught Buddhist monks) English in the Ladakh desert for a few months, which was fantastic.

I recently finished my Foundation Diploma in Art and Design at City and Guilds Art School and was awarded a Distinction and a Prize for Outstanding Student. After travelling, I came back to UK and worked in Theatre as a performer. studying improvisation, with a touring company, which I loved.

Im a very creative, artistic person and very good at encouraging and supporting children academically as well as creatively.

I am passionate about English Literature, Creative Writing, Art and Music.
I can also teach English as a Foreign Language and hold a TEFL Certificate.

GCSEs at Francis Holland School - 5A*s, 2As, 2Bs
(English Lit. A*, English Lang. A*, French A*, History A, Maths B, Int. Science B, Art A,
Class. Civ A*, Latin A*)
Manchester University - English Literature First Class B.A Degree.
Foundation Diploma in Art and Design Distinction. (City and Guilds, Kennington, London) Distinction.

Recent Tuition
I have been working with Freya (Year 10) in preparation for her English GCSE. We have covered set texts and introduced past papers for English Language.

English as a Foreign Language - Alexander wanted a full weeks tuition for Business English as a high flying Russian Executive with only one week in London. We worked on grammar as well as conversation.

English as a Foreign Language - Yusuf, another businessman from Turkey only wanted a few sessions during his weeks stopover in London and we also concentrated on Grammar.

Secondary English - Weekly tuition with ten year old Aisha helping her with English, focusing on comprehension (English is not her first language) as well as writing stories and learning poems.

Secondary English - weekly tuition with Abdullahi (English is not his first language) helping with spelling, grammar and his school home work.

Secondary English and Humanities - I taught Khadija English weekly during my second year at University. She progressed a great deal during this time and we covered lots of different subjects, including Geography, that she was finding a challenge.

Primary English - Weekly tuition for six year old Rwada in English. Rwada was an absolute delight and was thoroughly enraptured by Roald Dahl and Youre a Bad Man Mr Gum.

Primary English - Weekly tuition for Binjamin in English, with a focus on reading comprehension. He made good progress and was very enthusiastic.

Primary English - I taught Yasmin English and we also covered other topics. I encouraged her to take an interest in Literature and Poetry outside of the school syllabus, which she thoroughly enjoyed, particularly reading Grimms Fairy Tales.

I taught Chidiogo English two weeks Key Stage 10 every morning in preparation for her to start at her new senior school in the UK (moved from Nigeria).

Hobbies and Interests
I am a musician: I play the guitar, compose my own songs and sing in a band. Im also a visual artist (I paint in oils) and sometimes sell my work (www.xaxamason.com). I love to write and have studied Creative Writing at City Lit and Sussex Uni. I have also worked as an Editor for magazines and publishing houses. I recently attended a memoir writing and performance workshop in Hawaii in 2011 which was very inspiring.
I like gardening, growing vegetables, walking on Hampstead Heath and watching art-house films. Im a complete bookworm and a member of a weekly book-club in Kentish Town!

No Reviews

Tips: Please remember to include what subject was taught, to what level and any results that were achieved

Simply Learning Tuition
+44 (0) 20 735 01981
Contact agency
From £60/hr
Qualified teacher