Thumb thumb pin
#747
Psychology
Philosophy
Personal Statement
Maths
Law
English
History
Oxbridge

About Me
My specialist subjects are psychology and philosophy. I also teach Common Entrance 7+ , 11+ and 13+ in all subjects, history and law. My teaching style involves constant interaction with my students and ensures that they are not just being given information but are coming to answers through their own reasoning. I have always found that it is important for sessions to be engaging to maximise the benefits of tutoring and best facilitate learning.

I graduated from the University of Cambridge in 2012 with a degree in Experimental Psychology and Philosophy. Prior to that I sat my A-levels in Law, Philosophy and History at Richard Huish College in Somerset. I recently have been offered a training contract with an international law firm starting in 2015, and so am now tutoring full-time to continue the work I previously did at Oxbridge Applications prior to beginning my training contract.

Education

University of Cambridge: 2009-2012
BA(Hons) in Natural Sciences. 1st class honours. Awarded the Samuel Taylor Scholarship for excellent Tripos Performance. (Subjects: Part II Experimental Psychology and Part I Philosophy)
My combination of arts and sciences backgrounds gives me a great broad base of knowledge, as well as an understanding of how different subjects are taught.
Richard Huish Sixth Form College: 2007-2009
A levels: Law (A), Philosophy (A), History (A)
AS levels: Psychology (B), Human Biology (B)
Robert Blake Science College: 2002-2007
11 GCSEs: 3 grade A* (English Literature, History and Physics), 7 grade A (Maths, English Language, Biology, Chemistry, French, Geography, Statistics), 1 grade B (PE)

Recent Tuition

Mentoring and tutoring for students applying to Oxford for PPE, Philosophy and Theology and Philosophy and French.
Delivered mock interviews-for PPE, HSPS, PBS, Archaeology and Anthropology, Philosophy and Philosophy and Theology for Oxbridge applicants, receiving 100% outstanding-feedback.
Undergraduate Psychology - 2nd year student project work with Laetita who is studying at Regents College. I helped Laetita with analysis, following the statistical work Laetita had done with her university tutor. I also helped her with the write up of her experiment and preparing the final piece for submission to journals.
International Baccalaureate Psychology - home schooling while the student was off of school. Over the course of a few months we covered the whole IB Psychology syllabus.
GCSE English Language and Literature - homework support covering To Kill a Mockingbird, Great Expectations and Romeo and Juliet.
13+ Common Entrance for a young boy applying to Eton. We covered mostly Maths and English but also Science, History and RE.
Year 6 English and Maths with Bo-Lou - weekly sessions in preparation for SATs exams at the end of Year 6. The focus was mostly on maths and confidence building, although we also did some English work. Bo-Lou is a strong student but often stuggles getting her ideas and knowledge down on paper. We practiced lots of sample papers to help her with this. In maths, we focused on revising key methods, e.g. long division and multiplication.
I have attended a 7+ and 11+ training day run by an expert professional at Dulwich Tutors who previously worked as a Pre-School teacher and trained by a previous teacher and existing 7+ and 11+ tutors. During this full training day we also covered interview technique.

Hobbies and Interests
My main interest outside of tutoring is rugby, and I currently play for Millwall RFC 1st XV and Hogan Lovells rugby team. I have previously represented Cambridge University in the Under 21s Varsity match at Twickenham, and was President and Captain of Sidney Sussex College RFC. I also read extensively, both fiction and non-fiction, on topics as varied as thermodynamics and Mongolian history.

No Reviews

Tips: Please remember to include what subject was taught, to what level and any results that were achieved

Simply Learning Tuition
+44 (0) 20 735 01981
Contact agency
From £60/hr