Thumb thumb pin
#686
Dyslexia/Dyspraxia
Religious Studies
Philosophy
English
Oxbridge
Personal Statement

About Me
My specialist subjects are English (Literature and Language) and Philosophy and Religious Studies. I also prepare children for 7+, 8+ and 11+ entrance examinations and have guided a number of successful candidates through the UCAS system, including personal statements and interviews.
Having been a Private Tutor for over seven years, I am highly experienced in helping children and young adults alike to fulfil their academic potential. Passionate about the subjects I teach, I encourage my pupils to find a personal connection with their studies and to develop their capacity for thinking independently.
I am thoroughly familiar with GCSE and A level syllabuses and instruct my pupils how to target marking criteria in order to meet their grade aspirations. In English tutorials I encourage insightful analysis of texts and eloquent, articulate writing
in Philosophy I focus on helping pupils to understand complex philosophical concepts and form their own, reasoned judgements.
Working with families preparing for common entrance examinations, I am sensitive to individual needs and strive to create the best possible learning environment. I take great pleasure in building rapport with children and try to make the sessions interactive and lively. I am delighted to say that two of my recent pupils were accepted by Kings College Junior School (Kings College Wimbledon).
Having experienced the Cambridge supervision system, I am adept at leading discussions in such a way as to indicate how these subject areas are studied at university. Last year I was appointed Academic Intern at Alleyns School, a role that entailed giving enrichment lectures, running revision classes for exams, and assisting candidates with university applications.
Following my studies in Performance on Viola at the Royal College of Music, I also offer private music lessons (violin and viola). I have considerable orchestral and chamber music experience, having been Principal of the Cambridge University Chamber Orchestra, as well as five years-experience teaching.
I have worked with several pupils with dyslexia. Referring to a wide variety of resource, I have devised several effective phonic techniques that are adaptable to pupils across the spectrum. Having tutored a 13 year old with anorexia and a 17 year old girl suffering from a lack of confidence due to bullying at school, I realize the importance of creating the utmost supportive, patient and encouraging learning environment in which my pupils can thrive.

Academic History:
Having read Theology and Philosophy at the University of Cambridge, I went on to do an MA in European Thought at University College London, where I am currently doing a PhD in Comparative Literature.
I got 10 A*s and 1 A at GCSE and 4 As at A level (English, French, History and Music).

Recent Tuition
I am a Private Tutor for several prestigious tutoring agencies, with over seven years of experience. I specialise in English Literature and Language and Philosophy and Religious Studies. Other subjects include 7+, 8+ and 11+ (including Kings College and Colet Court), UCAS applications (including Oxbridge), and violin and viola. I have experience in tutoring students from ages 5 to 19 across a range of abilities, from Key Stage 1-3, GCSE, right through to AS and A level, as well as general literacy and pupils with learning difficulties.
Here is a representative selection of my clients:

8+ and 11+ - I helped to prepare two young boys for Kings College examinations through mock papers, practice questions, spelling and grammar exercises and general encouragement

they were successful in gaining entry.


8+ I am currently working with an eight year old applying to Colet Court.
8+ I am currently working with a seven year old applying to Kings and Westminster.
11+ English - I worked with Tom, aged 10, intensively over the summer to improve his 11+ English skills.
11+ English - Valentine - weekly tuition ensuring familiarity with English grammar, through both reading and writing, and enabling Valentine to catch up with her classmates.
AS level Philosophy - Claire - two hours a week of tuition on the AQA syllabus (which is extremely dense!). As well as covering the core material and grappling with challenging concepts, I helped Claire to structure numerous essays with concise, well-developed arguments. Impressively she achieved full marks in her exams.
UCAS - I have helped numerous candidates to gain acceptance into the universities of their choice, including the University of Cambridge (English), Exeter (Economics), and Nottingham (History). I enjoy helping candidates to add flair to their personal statements.
Theory of Knowledge (IB) - I am equipped to guide students through the entire process of the TOK assignment: identifying areas of interest, forming precise questions, accessing research resources, and of course writing up.
GCSE English - Jonny - weekly tuition involving discussing and annotating set texts (including Of Mice and Men and Inspector Calls), honing analytical skills and stylish, effective writing. Jonny went from a predicted D to A grade!
A level English - Sophie - two hours a week revising texts on the AQA syllabus. Sophie particularly wanted help with poetry analysis and exam technique. She achieved a good A grade in her exams.
AS and A level Philosophy - Amy - weekly tuition involving explicating key concepts through everyday examples. Amy struggled with writing essays so we looked at how to structure writing in a logical manner suitable to philosophising. Amy went from a borderline B/C to A grade. She is now studying at Nottingham.
GCSE English - Saleem - weekly tuition helping with essential reading and writing skills (for Saleem, English is a second language)

through hard work he achieved a C grade.


French - Milly (aged 5) - weekly tuition introducing Milly to a second language (colours, numbers, days of the week etc.) through games.
GCSE English - Samuel - twice weekly tuition preparing for controlled assessments and exams. Samuel was struggling with writing in English; he went from predicted D to B grade.
Herman: mature student with dyslexia

has just been offered full time employment


Hatty: teenager with anorexia

we worked together on building her confidence

Hobbies and Interests
My hobbies are playing the viola, reading novels, talking with friends and going to art galleries and the theatre.

No Reviews

Tips: Please remember to include what subject was taught, to what level and any results that were achieved

Simply Learning Tuition
+44 (0) 20 735 01981
Contact agency
From £60/hr
SEN/Dyslexia