Thumb thumb pin
#1009
Biology
English Literature
Geography

About Me
My specialist subjects are sociology and english. I also teach psychology, politics and media. I am able to enthuse students with my passion for learning and knowledge, and to tailor my teaching style and approach according to each students aims and needs - constantly seeking to stimulate their creativity and engagement.
I am currently a PhD candidate in Sociology at the University of Cambridge, where I previously completed an MPhil in 2010. For my undergraduate degree I went to the University of Manchester and was awarded a Bachelor of Economics and Social Studies (specialising in Politics and Development Studies).
My high-school years were spent in Denmark (Copenhagen) at the International Department of Narre Gymnaisum where I completed the International Baccalaureate. Prior to this I went to middle school in the United States (New York) and to primary school in the UK (London).

Recent Tuition
TUTORING EXPERIENCE:

A1A2 Sociology and CE13 - Selection of Clients:

2015

Alex: A2 Sociology (Dyspraxia).

2014-2015

Marie (ADHD): Home schooling twice a week of the entire AS A2 sociology syllabus, over the academic year from September 2014 to June 2015.

2013

Riley: Residential exam revision for AS and A2 sociology, twice a week in London.

2013

Ewan: Residential tutoring in Scotland, CE13+ (Math, English, Religious Studies).

TEACHING EXPERIENCE
2014

Course Organizer and Instructor, Media Ethics, the Environment and the Media, the Levenson Inquiry and Social Media, Reach Cambridge (O level students, twenty-two 14 year old girls)

2013-2014

Undergraduate Supervisor in the Political Economy of Capitalism, Media Culture and Society, and Modern Society and Global Transformations, Department of Sociology, University Cambridge

2013

External Lecturer, Sociology of Labour Markets, Department of Sociology, University of Copenhagen

MENTORING EXPERIENCE
Andrea, Ibrahim, Stephanie, Matthew, Mathias, Salik, Marie-Louise: mentoring students with the transition from IB to elite universities abroad (Cambridge, Oxford, LSE, Manchester, Kings, Warwick), including university applications/personal statements, course selection, extra-curricular activities and funding. (At the International Baccalaureate Department, Narre Gymnasium, Copenhagen).

Hobbies and Interests
Aside from teaching I am interested in film, spoken word poetry, basketball, music and traveling. My other hobbies include journalism and volunteering for NGOs.

No Reviews

Tips: Please remember to include what subject was taught, to what level and any results that were achieved

Simply Learning Tuition
+44 (0) 20 735 01981
Contact agency
From £60/hr