Thumb thumb pin
#1001
Biology
Chemistry
Maths
Science

About Me
I joined the Simply Learning Tuition team in 2009 and I have been tutoring children and teenagers of various ages ever since. This is an experience I find extremely rewarding. It gives me great satisfaction to see young people progressing and achieving better results and becoming more confident.
Being a mother of three young children (9, 7 and 1) I understand the pressures of wanting to give youngsters the best education, supporting them and helping them succeed. I started tutoring young children when I was doing my GCSEs and A levels, helping my friends and neighbours children. I have also worked with adults teaching them Portuguese (my mother tongue) at the Centre for Lifelong Learning in Newcastle (where I did my PhD).
I have a BSc, MSc and PhD all in a Science related area (Agriculture).
I have been tutoring since 2009 because I love to engage young minds with Science. Tutoring allows me to have more time to be with my own children too and support their learning the same way I support the other kids I work with.

Recent Tuition

IGCSE Maths and Science Home Schooling:


Ive been tutoring Jack since December 2014 and will continue to work with Jack next year in the run up to his final IGCSE exams in June 2016. Jack is a footballer and has to juggle the demands of his training alongside his home schooling so it is important that we work efficiently and effectively in the 2 days we spend together each week, yet take the time that Jack often needs to revise and consolidate his learning. I ensure that Jack takes regular tests (both formally and informally) to ensure adequate progress is being made and that Jacks parents are aware of this - and indeed to that they are aware of when learning has been slower.



IGCSE Maths and Science Home Schooling:


Guy and I have been working together since the Spring term of 2015, covering IGCSE Maths and Science. Guy really enjoys his lessons but has had a difficult time at school over the last few years which has left some gaps in his knowledge so our current priority is to fill these gaps before moving up to the next level. Guy will be starting the IGCSE curriculum with me in September 2015 and well be working together for the next two academic years until his final exams.



Maths Primary:


I have been working a lot with a variety of primary school children (mainly KS2) and can proudly say that all of them finished last year with top marks in maths. The focus of a lot of this work is on developing confidence and helping them believe in their own ability.



Luiza - GCSE Chemistry and Biology:


Luiza is a very bright young lady who doesnt love sciences and therefore lacked confidence in this area. I worked with Luiza preparing her for the 2014 GCSE exams. She achieved an A in both subjects.



Sophie - IB Biology on a fortnightly basis:


Sophie secured a place at Oxford University after reaching her target grades.



Pavita: A-level Biology tuition:


I helped Pavita over the last year with her B2 Biology so that she could achieve at least the requested B grade to be admitted at Reading University.



Jasvinder: Regular A-level Biology (B1) tuition in preparation for final exams.
Flora - GCSE Chemistry on a weekly basis.
Fynni: A very bright 15 year old who was extremely intelligent and interested in environmental issues. I spent an hour every week for a year discussing topics related to the environment (deforestation, global warming, global cooling, ocean acidification, etc.) in order to improve her knowledge on these issues.
GCSE Biology:

I tutored Martha for about 3 months on a nearly daily basis. Martha had anxiety problems and she required someone very patient to help her with Biology (GCSE level). She dropped school the year before due to health issues and therefore her confidence was very low. Her aim was to go back to school and my job was to help her achieve her wish by tutoring her using as many resources as possible to stimulate and make her gain her confidence back.


Adam: Biology GCSE tuition in preparation for the final exams.
Paul: Tuition with this boy was for a short time. I supported him in his IB Biology exam preparation.
Hector: Year 6 Maths tuition in preparation for an Independent secondary schoolss exams.
Ellyss: is a year 5 girl who I have been tutoring Maths over the last year. She is very bright but needs extra support to boost her confidence. She performs very well with me but at school she was not showing her knowledge because she lacked confidence. In the past year she developed a lot and has improved her maths level.

Hobbies and Interests
I love running, listening to music (Coldplay is my favourite band!), going to Kew Gardens and Richmond Park. I play the guitar and enjoy "me time" (mothers will understand this! Drinking coffee by myself on a Saturday morning at my local coffee shop while I read or write. I also run my own project called Little Gardeners: an after school gardening club for little ones in my local primary school.

No Reviews

Tips: Please remember to include what subject was taught, to what level and any results that were achieved

Simply Learning Tuition
+44 (0) 20 381 17403
Contact agency
From £60/hr